Skip to content Skip to navigation

International Trading Excellence Awards

The International Trading Excellence Awards were introduced in 2012 and are given to deserving undergraduates going onto their final year of studies. Selection criteria include, but are not limited to, leadership potential, active involvement in co-curricular activities, and a commitment to community service. Special consideration will be given to students with financial needs. Applicants are first shortlisted by ITI@SMU, followed by a panel interview made up of representatives from SMU and ITI@SMU Industry Partners. Each participating organization will be able to select up to 2 award recipients each year.

Successful applicants will also have the opportunity to intern with ITI@SMU’s industry partners where they will have the opportunity to develop deeper insights about the business. No bond is required from the students who successfully apply for the award. Students will only receive the award upon completing the required modules.

In AY2014/2015, 20 students were awarded the Excellence Awards. Apart from the monetary award, the students were also provided with internship opportunities by the sponsoring companies. Recipients of the awards tend to continue to serve with their sponsoring companies upon graduation.

The following is the list of award recipients

Chen Ronghao (BTG Pactual)

Lee Qian Yi (BTG Pactual)

Teoh Jun Yeang (globalORE)

Gabriel Oon Chian Yi (H & C S Holdings)

Matthew Goh Yujie (Interchem)

Kenny Kee Kechen (Interchem)

Alex Lee Si Xian (JustCommodity)

Jeremy Wimala Wei Quan (JustCommodity)

Aaron Er Ziyang (Lianfeng International)

Kenneth Quek Chui Jin (Noble)

Engineer Noshir Sorab (Noble)

Huynh Huy Tung, Steve (Olam)

Dathne Tan Xin Yee (Pavilion Gas)

Lim Biao (Phillips 66)

Goh Bing Kun (Rabobank)

Louis Tan Loh Boon (Rabobank)

Chui Simin (Shell)

George Lee Zheng Yi (Stemcor)

Gaurav Dilip Narwani (Trafigura)

Muhammad Danial Bin Yusuf (Trafigura)


The Dean's List honours students in SMU who have done exceptionally well for the year. To qualify to be on the Dean’s List students must meet the following criteria.

  • Achieve a GPA of 3.7 over 2 regular terms

  • No grade lower than C

  • Completed 3 courses that are graded (Students on exchange receive a ‘Pass’ or ‘Fail’ grade for the modules they complete in another university.)

  • No ‘I’ grade

  • No disciplinary action taken against the student.

ITI@SMU is proud that the following students who are on the International Trading Track have made it to this AY2013/2014 Dean’s List.

Last updated on 08 Dec 2016 .